HomeSupportJudges2023-24 WinnersPast Utah WinnersContact Us

Phyliss Olson
William Goeglein
Roberta Ralf
Rebecca Olson
Marilyn Rudolph
Christine Timothy
Donna Welman
Elaine Carr Brewster
Katheryn Austin
Clinton Johnson
Laura Garff Lewis
Mary Billeter Young
Monica Fisher
Christine Rogers
Linda Kelm
Connie Cloward
Philip Frohnmeyer
Kristen Hyde
Craig Jessop
Lani Poulson
Lani Poulson
Connie Cloward
Louis Welcher
David Power
Carol Brain
Roger Summerhays
Cynthia Pannell
Martin Wright
Kristen Hyde
Stephen West
Linda Pierce
Martin Wright
Andrea Thornock
Kathleen Watt
Jonella Smith
Kristin Hurst-Hyde
Carla Cook
Adelaide Sinclair
Adelaide Sinclair
Anna Mooy
Stanford Olsen
Stanford Olsen
Lani Poulson
Carol Ann Goodwin
Carol Ann Allred
Lee Ann Zappitello
Victoria Morris
Susan Alexander
Lee Ann Zapitello
Karen Anderson
Patricia Farr
Mark Nyman
Debie Mitchell
Julie Reynolds
James Miller
Elizabeth Paniagua Emerson
History of Utah District Winners
Carol Nelson Shafer
Eric Glissmeyer
LaDawn Gardner
James Miller
Marie-Adele Black
Marta Gutierrez
Laurel James
Coleen Butler
Julia Reed
Sarah Asplund
Marie-Adele McArthur
Diane Thueson Reich
Colleen Butler
Carolyn Tallboys-Klassen
Diane Thueson Reich
Karen Early Evans
Martha Glissmeyer
Nancy Treu Jepson
Robin Murphy
Ryan Olson
Kaarin Safsten
Jennifer Larson
John Mauldin
Darren Richard Watts
Todd Miller
Celena Nelson Shafer
Michelle Wrighte
Karen Early Evans
Lindsay Robison Killian
Celena Nelson Shafer
Lindsay Robison Killian
Todd A. Miller
Gregory Oaks
Christie Allen
Michael Chipman
Rachelle Hume
Mara Bonde
Gabrieal Gonzales
Edwin Uhey
Daniel Cilli
Gabrielle Firenze
Gioacchino Lauro LiVigni
Leah Wool
Katherine Swigert
Anthony Zoeller
Camella Canete
Maryann Madden
Marilyn Reid
Nina Yoshida Nelsen
Melissa (Gillespie) Heath
Shannon Kessler Dooley
Tyler Oliphant
Alisa Thomason
Heath Huberg
Rachel Willis-Sørensen
1976 Utah District Winner 
Dr. Craig Jessop is Professor of Music and the founding Dean for the Caine College of the Arts at Utah State University. These appointments follow Dr. Jessop’s distinguished tenure as music director of the world famous Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Head of the Department of Music at Utah State.
1983/84 Utah District Winner
Distinguished American tenor Stanford Olsen is one of this generation’s most successful and versatile artists, his career spans more than 1,200 performances on five continents over the course of 30 years. He is a Professor of Voice at the University of Michigan School of Music, Theater, and Dance.
1998/99 Utah District Winner
Celena Nelson Shafer has garnered acclaim for her silvery voice, fearlessly committed acting and phenomenal technique. She spends much of her time on the concert stage where she appears regularly with major orchestras. A celebrated artist in her home state of Utah, Ms. Shafer has long relationship with Utah Opera and Utah Symphony
2008 Utah District Winner
Soprano Rachel Willis-Sørensen is known for her diverse repertoire ranging from Mozart to Wagner. A regular guest at the leading opera houses around the world, Le Monde enthused, "…the American soprano has without a doubt one of the most impressive voices in the opera world. The timbre, of marmoreal beauty, is striking, the projection telluric..." 
2019-20 Utah District Winner
Jonah Hoskins is a tenor from Saratoga Springs, Utah. Since winning the Metropolitan Opera National Council Auditions in 2020, he has been a member of the prestigious Lindemann Young Artist Development Program. During the Met’s 2022–23 season, he sings Gastone in La traviata and Nemorino in L’elisir d’amore. He recently made his European debut as Chevalier Belfiore in Rossini’s      Il Viaggio a Reims in Dresden.
2012 Utah District Winner
Cecilia Violetta López has been named one of “Idaho’s Top 10 Most Influential Women of the Century” by USA Today and has been named one of opera’s “25 Rising Stars” by Opera News. The singing actress is constantly praised for her “alluring voice and incredible range” (Washington Post). In January 2021, Opera Idaho appointed Ms. López as the company’s first Artistic Advisor.
2023-24 Winners Aaron Jenkins, Anna Low, Katheryn Cox, Joshua Thomas, Sarah Scofield, and Ryan Johnson with judges Gayletha Nichols, Darren Woods, and Melissa Wegner. (photo courtesy of Dr. Robert Breault)